Translation of the HOLY QUR’AN – 109.Surat Al-Kāfirūn (The Disbelievers) – سورة الكافرون

Surat Al-Kāfirūn (The Disbelievers) – سورة الكافرون

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ الرَّحْمَٰنِ الرَّحِيمِ

[In the Name of ALLAH, the ENTIRELY MERCIFUL, the ESPECIALLY MERCIFUL]

 

109:1

قُلْ يَا أَيُّهَا الْكَافِرُونَ

Pronunciation

Qul ya ayyuha alkafiroon

Translation

Say, “O disbelievers,

Tafsir al-Jalalayn

Say: ‘O disbelievers!

109:2

لَا أَعْبُدُ مَا تَعْبُدُونَ

Pronunciation

La aAAbudu ma taAAbudoon

Translation

I do not worship what you worship.

Tafsir al-Jalalayn

I do not worship, at present, what you worship, of idols,

109:3

وَلَا أَنتُمْ عَابِدُونَ مَا أَعْبُدُ

Pronunciation

Wala antum AAabidoona maaAAbud

Translation

Nor are you worshippers of what I worship.

Tafsir al-Jalalayn

and you do not worship, at present, what I worship, and that is God, exalted be He, alone,

109:4

وَلَا أَنَا عَابِدٌ مَّا عَبَدتُّمْ

Pronunciation

Wala ana AAabidun maAAabadtum

Translation

Nor will I be a worshipper of what you worship.

Tafsir al-Jalalayn

nor will I worship, in the future, what you have worshipped,

109:5

وَلَا أَنتُمْ عَابِدُونَ مَا أَعْبُدُ

Pronunciation

Wala antum AAabidoona maaAAbud

Translation

Nor will you be worshippers of what I worship.

Tafsir al-Jalalayn

nor will you worship, in the future, what I worship: God knew that they would never become believers (the use of [the inanimate] mā, ‘what’, to refer to God is meant to counter [the reference to ‘what thing’ they worship]).

109:6

لَكُمْ دِينُكُمْ وَلِيَ دِينِ

Pronunciation

Lakum deenukum waliya deen

Translation

For you is your religion, and for me is my religion.”

Tafsir al-Jalalayn

You have your religion, idolatry, and I have a religion’, Islam: this was [revealed] before he was commanded to wage war [against the idolaters] (all seven Qur’ānic readers omit the yā’ of the genitive possessive construction [in wa-liya dīni] whether with a pause or without; Ya‘qūb, however, retains it in both cases).

Tags: , , ,